cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple instances using ActiveX in VB

Jump to solution
kubanb
Contributor III

I have two Freedom boards attached to my computer each using Segger/JLink Comm Plugin (with different serial numbers).  I have a Freemaster project for each of these boards (ProjectFile1, ProjectFile2), and I can run both projects at the same time and communicate with board boards with no issues.

I also have a working VB program that uses the FreeMASTER ActiveX library (3.1.1.6) to open one of these projects and communicate with one of the boards:

pcm1 = New McbPcmLib.McbPcm

pcm1.OpenProject(ProjectFile1)

and this works perfectly.

However, if I add another instance:

pcm2 = New McbPcmLib.McbPcm

pcm2.OpenProject(projfile2)

it replaces the first instance of Freemaster with the second one.

Is there a way to start the second instance from the VB program without loosing the first one?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
MichalH
NXP Apps Support
NXP Apps Support

Dear Barry,

thank you for your effort when testing this case in your Visual Basic application. Let me summarize the features of the MCB.MULT object and what is working and what is not working in FreeMASTER 3.1.2:

• Both FreeMASTER and the MULT object need to registered as COM reference in VB project before use.
    • McbPcmLib can be located as “FreeMASTER ActiveX Type Library”.
    • McbMultLib must be located in mmaster.dll file in FreeMASTER installation.
  • The VB project must be compiled for x86 platform.
  • The MULT object is created as “new McbMultLib.McbMult” object.
  • The GetAppObject() works well to fetch the named running instances of FreeMASTER.
  • When the required instance is not running, it can be automatically launched by using 2nd parameter value of the GetAppObject().