ZigBee Development Kits- 1321XDSK, 13192DSK, MaxStream XBee

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ZigBee Development Kits- 1321XDSK, 13192DSK, MaxStream XBee

DrFence
Contributor I
I want to build a simple home automation lower power wireless device that controls an actuator.  This device will hold a schedule and at a given time trigger this actuator.  I'm completely new to embedded systems but have a background in C/C++.  I've looked at these kits:

1. 1321xDSK
  2. 13192DSK 
  3. MaxStream XBee

What's the major difference in the 1321xDSK & 13192DSK?  The 1321xDSK has "reference boards" ... are these boards I have to assemble?  That's certainly beyond my capability.

Also Maxstream has the XBee ... am I better off with the freescale kit + BDM for debugging?

Since I'm so new to embedded systems I'm having a hard time weighing the pros/cons.

Mark

Added part numbers to Subject.

Message Edited by NLFSJ on 2007-05-18 08:41 AM
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies

ThaManJD
Contributor III

Do you have a full version of codewarrior or the *free* 32 files limited version?

the BeeKit project maker makes ~217 files(depends on options?) for the HA_OnOffSwitch project.

Can you still get the series 1 XBEE? the series 2 is now using the Ember chip (serial AT or byte command i/f only?)

BTW during some recent zigbee research i found CEL California Eastern Laboratories also have a few smd mountable modules including two Freescale based solutions - one is single chip soc solution and the other is the two chip solution. Available through DigiKey i think?

John Dowdell

Sydney Australia

0 Kudos

mroczeks
Contributor IV

Hoping my question is not too far from main topic...

Does MC1321XDSK version allow for programming?

Or do I have to buy -BDM version?

I couldn't find specific info about that.

I can get BDM easily when in need for step-by-step debugging...

0 Kudos

heny
Contributor I