cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN-Example does not work on MPC5634M

markust
Contributor I

Hallo guys,

i'm working with a Freescale TRK-MPC5634M Rev B for a project in our university. And important to say, I'm new in this topic.

I want to use the Flex-Can-Interface and found this example:

Example TRK-MPC5634M Initialization of SBC chip MC33905 and FlexCAN

I downloaded the zip, opened it with CodeWarrior and downloaded it into the RAM and also in the Flash-Memory of the board.

The Jumper J5 is set correctly, and also the CAN-Enable-Jumper are set. Also the Board is power by an external power supply.

I use Busmaster and an ETAS es581.2 to see, if the CAN-Interfaces works, but nothing happens. Also on the oscilloscope shows no activity on CAN-High or CAN-Low.

Is there anything else to do, or should it work and there is another failure?

I would be very happy if anybody could help me.

Regards Markus

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies

PetrS
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi,

Please double check following:

- power the SBC externally, so connect 9 to 12V to J1 connector and place jumper to SBC_5V-5V position on POWER_SELECT header.

- put the SBC to debug mode with a J5 jumper (J4 not installed), for ease of use

With the mentioned example measure also the CAN TX/RX lines on CAN-Enable jumpers with the scope.

Finally you can check the FlexCAN’s ESR and ECR registers, to know the error status of the FlexCAN module.

Regards,

Petr

0 Kudos

markust
Contributor I

Hi PetrS,

thanks for your fast response.

I checked the Jumpers setting again. J5 is set, J4 not, the two CAN-enable jumpers are also set. And J1 is set on SBC_5V and 5V.

Where do I find the ESR and ECR registers? I use the ICDPPCNEXUS Debugger.

The CPU Windows shows only MSR and CR registers, the values are: MSR: 02000000 and CR 80000000 or 20000000.

Could it be, that an other configuration (jumper setting) of the board causes the failure?